The European label Flax®

Femme buvant un café dans les draps Carré Blanc

What is the European label Flax® ?

Created by the CELC (European Confederation of Linen and Hemp), the European label Flax® guarantees the origin of a premium quality linen fiber Cultivated in Western Europe: France, Belgium and the Netherlands.

Controlled by independent organizations, Linen Certified European Flax® preserves, values ​​and safeguards European agricultural industries, Its territorial origin and its non-relocating know-how.

Known worldwide, this certification aims to be identified by the end consumer and includes all linen products.

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE EUROPEAN LABEL FLAX®

That certifies the European label Flax® ?

The label European Flax® certifies the origin and traceability of European flax. Coming from local agriculture respectful of the environment, this natural fiber, 100% vegetable and vegan, is cultivated without irrigation, GMO and does not produce any waste. The European label Flax® also guarantees fair working conditions From a social and ethical point of view for workers from the entire production chain.

Healthy and lasting, European Flax® certified linen is hypoallergenic and has no risk to consumer health. He has exceptional natural properties: extremely resistant, European linen is a noble textile which is also distinguished by its comfort, its thermoregulatory power and its ability to evacuate humidity.

Zoom sur la housse de couette songe Carré Blanc

The rules to be respected

Environmental rules

Only textile products that contain at least 70% organic certified fibers can be certified by the GOTS label. They must be assessed and must comply with a certain number of rules on toxicity and biodegradability.

Social rules

The transformers and manufacturers of the textile industry must meet the social criteria set by the standards of the International Labor Organization (ILO). This implies decent remuneration, correct working hours or the formal ban on working children.

The rules of toxicity and biodegradability

All chemical materials must meet several environmental and toxicological criteria. Inputs such as aromatic or halogenated solvents, chlorophenol, deersifs, formaldehyde, fungicides or biocides, functional nanoparticles, genetically modified organisms (GMOs) and their enzymes are categorically prohibited. Heavy metals as well as azo dyes releasing carcinogenic amino components are banished. Printing methods using aromatic solvents and plastisol printing methods using phthalates and PVC are prohibited. Singling agents must be based on oxygen and not chlorine. PVC, nickel and chrome are prohibited. Since 2014, all polyesters must be recyclable. Regarding biodegradability, all stakeholders in the supply chain must follow an environmental policy including objectives and procedures aimed at minimizing waste and discharges. The materials used for packaging should in no case contain PVC. All papers and boxes used in packaging or labels must be recyclable or FSC or PEFC certified.

Boule de coton sur fond blanc

Natural and organic fiber

What is a natural fiber?

A natural fiber is made from materials from nature: cotton, flax, hemp, wool, etc. A natural fiber is not necessarily a biological fiber because it can be subject to chemical treatments in the manufacturing process.

What is a organic fiber?

An organic fiber is always composed of natural fiber. It is cultivated without insecticides, pesticides, or GMOs. Compost or manure are used as organic fertilizers instead.

Le label European Flax®

Femme buvant un café dans les draps Carré Blanc

Qu’est-ce que le label European Flax® ?

Créé par la CELC (Confédération Européenne du Lin et Chanvre), le label European Flax® garantit l’origine d’une fibre de lin de qualité premium cultivée en Europe de l’ouest : France, Belgique et Pays-Bas.

Contrôlé par des organismes indépendants, le lin certifié European Flax® préserve, valorise et sauvegarde les industries agricoles européennes, son origine territoriale et ses savoir-faire non délocalisables.

Mondialement connue, cette certification a pour vocation d’être identifiée par le consommateur final et englobe tous les produits à base de lin.

EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR LE LABEL EUROPEAN FLAX®

Que certifie le label European Flax® ?

Le label European Flax® certifie l’origine et la traçabilité du lin européen. Issue d’une agriculture locale respectueuse de l’environnement, cette fibre naturelle, 100% végétale et vegan, est cultivée sans irrigation, sans OGM et ne produit aucun déchet. Le label European Flax® garantit également des conditions de travail justes d’un point de vue social et éthique pour les travailleurs de toute la chaîne de production.

Sain et durable, le lin certifié European Flax® est hypoallergénique et ne présente aucun risque pour la santé du consommateur. Il possède des propriétés naturelles exceptionnelles : extrêmement résistant, le lin européen est un textile noble qui se distingue également par son confort, son pouvoir thermorégulateur et sa capacité à évacuer l’humidité.

Zoom sur la housse de couette songe Carré Blanc

Les règles à respecter

Les règles environnementales

Seuls les produits textiles qui contiennent au minimum 70% de fibres certifiées organiques peuvent être certifiés par le label GOTS. Elles doivent être évaluées et doivent être conformes à un certain nombre de règles sur la toxicité et la biodégradabilité.

Les règles sociales

Les transformateurs et fabricants de l’industrie textile se doivent de respecter les critères sociaux fixés par les normes de l’Organisation Internationale du Travail (OIT). Cela implique une rémunération décente, des horaires de travail corrects ou encore l’interdiction formelle de faire travailler les enfants.

Les règles de toxicité et de biodégradabilité

Toutes les matières chimiques doivent répondre à plusieurs critères environnementaux et toxicologiques. Les intrants tels que les solvants aromatiques ou halogénés, le chlorophénol, les détersifs, le formaldéhyde, les fongicides ou les biocides, les nanoparticules fonctionnelles, les organismes génétiquement modifiés (OGM) et leurs enzymes sont catégoriquement interdits. Les métaux lourds ainsi que les colorants azoïques libérant des composants aminés carcinogènes sont bannis. Les méthodes d’impression utilisant des solvants aromatiques et les méthodes d’impression plastisol utilisant des phtalates et PVC sont interdits. Les agents blanchissants doivent être à base d’oxygène et non de chlore. Le PVC, le nickel et le chrome sont interdits. Depuis 2014, tous les polyesters doivent être recyclables. Concernant la biodégradabilité, tous les acteurs de la chaîne d’approvisionnement doivent suivre une politique environnementale comprenant des objectifs et des procédures visant à minimiser les déchets et les rejets. Les matériaux utilisés pour les emballages ne doivent en aucun cas contenir de PVC. Tous les papiers et cartons utilisés dans les emballages ou les étiquettes doivent être recyclables ou certifiés FSC ou PEFC.

Boule de coton sur fond blanc

Fibre naturelle et biologique 

Qu'est-ce qu'une fibre naturelle ?

Une fibre naturelle est fabriquée à partir de matières issues de la nature : le coton, le lin, le chanvre, la laine, etc. Une fibre naturelle n'est pas forcément une fibre biologique car elle peut être soumise à des traitements chimiques dans le processus de fabrication.

Qu'est-ce qu'une fibre biologique ?

Une fibre biologique est toujours composée de fibre naturelle. Elle est cultivée sans insecticides, ni pesticides, ni OGM. Le compost ou le fumier sont utilisés comme engrais organiques à la place.